One Bowl Brownies

I’m in the process of making a smitten kitchen cheesecake recipe I’ve had my eye on for a while now, a cheesecake with brownies swirled in and the first step is making the brownies to mix into the cheesecake batter.  To save on work, I decided to make the brownies one day in advance, pop them in a tupperware container in the fridge, then continue the cheesecake the next day.  Although I consider myself a pretty good baker, there is something about brownies that I seem to always mess up.  They come out too cakey, too dry, too grainy.  However, I’ve made a few recipes lately that have me convinced that even I can make a good brownie, and this very basic brownie is one of them:

Baker’s One Bowl Brownies:

4 ounces unsweetened chocolate (Baker’s chocolate, optional of course)
3/4 cup (170 grams) butter
1 3/4cups sugar
3 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup flour

Preheat oven to 350°F (170 C) . Line 13×9-inch baking pan with foil, with ends of foil extending over sides of pan. Grease foil.

Microwave chocolate and butter in large microwaveable bowl on high for 2 minutes, or until butter is melted. Stir until chocolate is completely melted. Stir in sugar. Blend in eggs and vanilla. Add flour and salt; mix well. Spread into prepared pan.

Bake 30 to 35 minute or until toothpick inserted in center comes out with fudgy crumbs. (Do not overbake.) Cool in pan on wire rack. Remove brownies from pan, using foil handles.

After cooling brownies, you might find it easier to refrigerate them before you start cutting.  Cut them into 1 inch squares for use in the cheesecake.  I cut mine pretty big, so I might have to further crumble them up.  Using a pizza cutter made the process very easy.  You need two cups of cubes for the cheesecake recipe, which will be coming in my next post so you will have extra brownie bites.  This is a very dangerous thing…I couldn’t keep away from the tupperware of brownies in the fridge.  I really liked this recipe, and think it would make a good stand alone brownie recipe with the following changes: baking in an 8 by 8 pan with increased baking time to make the brownies thicker and fudgier (I like really thick brownies), adding 1 cup of semi sweet chocolate chips to enhance the chocolate flavor.  This is a very easy recipe, and is meant to all be prepared in one bowl which really minimizes cleaning time after.  That is, unless you are like me and transfer the batter between three bowls, realizing each time the bowl you put it in is too small.  Next time, I’ll listen to the instructions when they clearly state “in a large bowl”!

Cheesecake post will follow… Happy Baking!

1 Comment

Filed under Desserts

One response to “One Bowl Brownies

  1. Pingback: The best caramel sauce you’ll make | everylittlecrumb

Leave a Reply

